BBC Proms 2018 Preview

The BBC Proms gets underway on Friday 18 July 2018. The 75 concert-long season was unveiled online at a special launch event last night at the Imperial War Museum.

I've picked out twenty-six moments from this year's line-up that have caught my eye – works, performers, or orchestras – listed in date order below.

Date – Prom Number Composer/Work/Performer/Orchestra
Friday 13 July – Prom 1 Anna Meredith/59 Productions Five Telegrams
Monday 16 July – Prom 4 Magnus Lindberg Clarinet Concerto
Wednesday 18 July – Prom 6 Messiaen Turangalila Symphony
Saturday 21 July – Roundhouse London Sinfonietta -Stravinsky & Messiaen 
Saturday 21 July – Prom 9 Britten Sinfonia da Requiem
Monday 23 July – Prom 13 Daphne Oram Still Point
Monday 30 July – Prom 21 Modern Alphorn Quartet
Sunday 5 August – Prom 29 Brandenburg Concertos (1)
Sunday 5 August – Prom 30 Brandenburg Concertos (2)
Tuesday 7 August – Prom 33 Brahms A German Requiem
Thursday 9 August – Prom 36 Philharmonia Orchestra
Friday 10 August – Prom 37 Bernstein Symphony No.1 
Monday 13 August – Prom 42 Estonian Festival Orchestra
Saturday 18 August – Prom 48 Simon Rattle and the LSO
Monday 20 August – Prom 51 Per Nørgård Symphony No. 3
Tuesday 21 August – Prom 52 Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra
Wednesday 22 August – Prom 54 Budapest Festival Orchestra with Ivan Fischer
Thursday 23 August – Prom 55 Budapest Festival Orchestra with Ivan Fischer
Friday 24 August – Prom 56 Benjamin Grosvenor
Monday 27 August – Prom 59 Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra Resound
Monday 27 August – Prom 60 Baltimore Symphony Orchestra
Tuesday 28 August – Prom 61 Rotterdam Philharmonic Orchestra
Saturday 1 September – Prom 66 Berlin Philharmonic and Yuja Wang
Sunday 2 September – Prom 68 Berlin Philharmonic
Monday 3 September – Prom 69 Boston Symphony Orchestra
Thursday 6 September – Prom 72 Britten War Requiem

The BBC Proms runs from Friday 13 July until Saturday 8 September 2018. Tickets go on sale on Saturday 12 May.

Comments

comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.