Borough New Music November 2017 Preview

Borough New Music – a rich offering of cutting edge works performed live in the heart of London – is a recent new discovery.

Every Tuesday lunchtime performance between now and June 2018 is free. Concerts are held at St George the Martyr Church, Borough High Street, SE1 1JA (just opposite Borough tube).  Each concert lasts around 50 minutes.

Contemporary music minus the historical baggage a lot of mainstream concert programming comes with.  All that’s required on the part of the audience is a sense of curiosity. In return, horizons will be broadened and thought-provoking experiences promised.

Each series – a monthly collection of events – includes four or five concerts: one featuring a performer; another a composer; one focusing on an instrument; and one ‘pot luck’. That means exposure to the latest, the best, and potentially the newest. That’s exciting.

November’s concerts (billed as ‘Series 3’) in the Borough New Music are as follows:

Tuesday 14 November 2017, 1pm Saariaho-Haas-Emmerson
Featured Instrument: Fixed Electronics
Ben Smith (piano), Patricia Auchterlonie (soprano) Chris McCormack (electronics)
Kaija Saariaho (b. 1952) – Lonh (1996)
Georg Friedrich Haas (b. 1953) – Ein Schattenspiel (2004)
Simon Emmerson (b. 1950) – Time Past IV (1985)

Tuesday 21 November 2017, 1pm Sensations
Performer: Ben Smith (piano)
Robert Reid Allan (b. 1991) – The Palace of Light (2016) (London Premiere)
Colon Nancarrow (1912-1997) – Three Canons for Ursula (1988)
Julian Anderson (b. 1967) –  Sensation (2015-16)

Tuesday 28 November 2017, 1pm Haikus
Featured Composer: Eva-Maria Houben
Antonia Berg (flute), Patricia Auchterlonie (soprano), Ben Smith (piano), Yoanna Prodanova (cello)
Eva-Maria Houben (b. 1955) – Haikus for four (I, V, VIII, IX) (2003-04) (UK Premiere)

On a side note, Jaime Gillarios deserves a medal for the graphic design. Gorgeous work.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.