Gramophone Recording of the Year 2015 posthumously awarded to Claudio Abbado

Claudio Abbado’s final concert before his death released by Deutsche Grammophon has been honoured with Gramophone’s Recording of the Year Award tonight at an awards ceremony held at St John’s Smith Square.

The award was presented to Sebastian Abbado, his son, and President of Deutsche Grammophon Mark Wilkinson by BBC Radio 3 Controller Alan Davey.

86 year old Dutch conductor Bernard Haitink was presented with the Lifetime Achievement award celebrating his 60 years in the industry.

Estonian conductor Paavo Järvi collected Artist of the Year Award having following an international public vote mounted by Gramophone.

German pianist Joseph Moog was presented with his Young Artist of the Year award.

The Gramophone Classical Music Awards were presented in association with EFG International, with the Recital Award sponsored by Mrs Joan Jones. The Recording of the Year Award is sponsored by Qobuz Sublime.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.