Anna Tcybuleva announced as Leeds Piano Competition 2015 winner

Twenty-five-year Russian Anna Tcybuleva won the Leeds first prize on Saturday 10 September seucring a £20,000 cash prize, giving her the chance to record a solo album.

Of the five remaining finalists in the competition, Heejae Kim, 28 from South Korea secured second prize, while third prize went to Russian 28 year old Vitaly Pisarenko.  Drew Petersen, 21 from USA was awarded fourth place with fifth going to Tomoki Kitamura, 24 from Japan and sixth to Yun Wei, 21 from China.

The Terence Judd – Hallé Orchestra Prize, in memory of a brilliant young pianist and past pupil of Dame Fanny Waterman was awarded to Heejae Kim, 28, from South Korea. The prize is awarded by members of the Hallé and their music director Sir Mark Elder awarded Heejae Kim Terence Judd – Hallé Orchestra Prize, in memory of a brilliant young pianist and past pupil of Dame Fanny Waterman – a cash prize of £5,500, at least three paid engagements with The Hallé and an invitation to perform in the Manchester Mid-day Concerts series at Bridgewater Hall.

In addition to the prize money, the finalists are awarded a range of performance opportunities designed to enhance their international standing and develop their careers. The finalists from this Competition will get performance opportunities as part of the Wigmore concert schedule, plus gigs in the Steinway Prize-winner concerts series, concerts with the City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra, The Hallé, Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra & The Royal Philharmonic Orchestra. 

The competition ran from 26 August – 12 September. There were 301 entries from which 69 participants were selected to compete in the first and second semi-finals.  Six finalists played concertos with the Halle Orchestra conducted by Sir Mark Elder on Friday and Saturday. Of the 301 original entries, there were 10 entries from UK pianists, three of which – Ashley Fripp, Jamie Bergin and Yuanfan Yang (2012 BBC Young Musician Finalist).

Winner Anna Tcybuleva was born in Ukraine and was first taught by her mother, Svetlana Tcybuleva. She studied at the Shostakovich Music School in Russia and continued education in the Moscow Central Music School. Between 2009 until 2014 she studied in Moscow State Conservatory. She is currently studying at post-graduate level at Basel Music Academy with Professor Claudio Martinez Mehner.

The eighteenth edition of the Competition (26 August – 13th September 2015) was judged by Nikolai Demidenko, Pascal Devoyon, Daniel Evans, Adam Gatehouse, Tong-Il Han, Jerome Lowenthal, Robert McDonald, Anne Queffélec, Marios Papadopoulos, Boris Petrushansky and Eleanor Wong. The chairperson was Dame Fanny Waterman.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.