RCM Fellowships, Honours, Doctorates & handshakes for 2013

That there Alfie Boe scrubs up well.
That there Alfie Boe scrubs up well.

A big day at the Royal College of Music earlier on today when a whole host of performers, administrators and educators got the chance to don their robes, step up on to stage and shake the hand of RCM President Prince Charles, who in turned handed each a piece of paper in a tube. Just look at the adorable RCM alumnus Alfie Boe pictured above. A special day. No messing.

Award winners included:

Catererina Grew (Piano) – The Queen Mother Rosebowl
Christian Barraclough(Trumpet) – Tagore Gold Medal
Mari Poll (Violin) – Tagore Gold Medal
Graham Bamford (Royal Garden Hotel) – RCM Honorary Membership
Rachel Leach (Composer) – RCM Honorary Membership
Marcus McDonald – RCM Honorary Membership
Samir Savant – RCM Honorary Membership
Dash Shenkman (Belle Shenkman Music Programme) – RCM Honorary Membership
David Whelton (Philharhmonia General Manager) – RCM Honorary Membership
Alfi Boe (Tenor) – Fellowship of RCM
David Hockings – (Percussionist, London Sinfonietta) – RCM Honorary Membership
Barry Ife – (Principal, GSMD) – RCM Honorary Membership
Gary Ryan (Guitar, Assistant Head of Strings, RCM) – RCM Honorary Membership
Jaime Martin – (Conductor) – RCM Honorary Membership
Christopher Hogwood CBE – Honorary Doctor of Music

A special mention must go to percussionist Ruairi Glasheen whose accomplishments across a variety of different genres has seen him work with a wide variety of education departments including the BBC Symphony Orchestra and the English Chamber Orchestra. His infectious enthusiasm for his work is evident in this short film the RCM made to accompany the day.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.